Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Take the time to read our Privacy Policy.

Lincon12 Offline
#1 Posted : Sunday, 26 May 2019 6:56:18 PM(UTC)
Lincon12

Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 22/05/2019(UTC)
Posts: 2
India
Location: Delhi

Hello everyone,,
Was driving my ecotec yesterday, had rear tyres were nearly flat so I wasn't doing above 80, anyway after probably less than 5 minutes I noticed the temp gauge was at about 3/4, but was holding steady. Within a couple of seconds the temp gauge climbed to the max and I pulled over and stopped the car. I opened to the bonnet and expected the radiator to be boiling over but it wasn't. Waited a short amount of time, and popped the radiator cap off with my bare hand, cap wasn't hot, and water didn't blast out like expected, the water level was still within the top of the radiator, didn't seemed pressurized if I remember correctly. After waiting for the radiator fans to stop youporn.wiki/ xhamster.vip/ redtube.onl/ spinning I drove a couple hundred metres, bought a bottle of water and topped up the rad, which only took a few hundred mls, and poured some more into the overflow. I then drove another 10 minutes, temps stayed low, then at a petrol station I stopped the car and checked the fluids again after leaving it for about an hour, rad was full, but overflow was bone dry it seemed, it's pretty hard to tell considering how the ecotec overflow is, poured more water into it, then drove for another 20 minutes without issue.

I'm wondering how likely it is the thermostat jammed up? I mean I was driving pretty slowly with the flats, but did get up to 80 at one point, would have driven 8 kms before it overheated I think. Also wondered if it was possible that I didn't secure the radiator cap properly, which I have done before and obviously the water has boiled out of the radiator cap. To note the radiator water is dirty and rusty, definitely needs a flush but haven't gotten round to do doing it.

Edited by user Monday, 27 May 2019 5:33:32 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

greenhj Offline
#2 Posted : Wednesday, 29 May 2019 9:28:14 PM(UTC)
greenhj

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/05/2006(UTC)
Posts: 467

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Great backstory for a spam post, though you need to work on link embedding skills, it's really hard to copy/paste the link with one hand on the keyboard and the other getting ready for a good time.




11.34@121mph NA
now being rebuilt with less cam, much less comp, and enough turbo to smash a holden block to bits..
commodorenut Offline
#3 Posted : Thursday, 30 May 2019 7:30:12 PM(UTC)
commodorenut

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Veteran
Joined: 2/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,121

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 30 time(s) in 29 post(s)
OK, I'll bite.
Years ago we had 2 Ecotecs in the family, and both those cars suffered stuck thermostats during their life.

More recently, my in-laws supercharged WK also did the same - but it's a different thermostat on that 3.8 (and a real pain in the ass to change).

So yes, it does happen, and from personal experience, 3 from 3 for 3.8L V6s for me.
Cheers,

Mick
_______________________________________________________________

Judge a successful man not on how he treats his peers, but on how he treats those less fortunate.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.205 seconds.