Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Take the time to read our Privacy Policy.

disowned Offline
#1 Posted : Sunday, 7 November 2010 7:30:24 AM(UTC)
disowned

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 26/09/2010(UTC)
Posts: 13

hey all anyone got any ideas bout how to install a taco with a haltech ecu
greenhj Offline
#2 Posted : Monday, 8 November 2010 1:07:01 AM(UTC)
greenhj

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/05/2006(UTC)
Posts: 485

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 8 post(s)
try not to drip mexican hot sauce into the ecu.




[email protected]
will go quicker

[email protected]
went quicker and faster, just not quick enough.

now being rebuilt with less cam, much less comp, and a turbo.




[email protected] NA
now being rebuilt with less cam, much less comp, and enough turbo to smash a holden block to bits..
Dr Terry Offline
#3 Posted : Monday, 8 November 2010 3:37:41 AM(UTC)
Dr Terry

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered
Joined: 1/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 5,877

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 152 time(s) in 141 post(s)
quote:
Originally posted by greenhj
try not to drip mexican hot sauce

You beat me to it. I was thinking a beef taco, with chilli sauce.

Dr Terry

_________________________________________

When calculating a car restoration budget, be as accurate as you can & then double the final figure. It will be closer to the truth.
If at first you don't succeed, just call it Version 1.0
80569K Offline
#4 Posted : Monday, 8 November 2010 4:15:07 PM(UTC)
80569K

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 11/08/2008(UTC)
Posts: 916

Thanks: 2 times
C'mon chaps, don't be nasty. Years ago some fool decided to stuff our education system by allowing phonetic spelling, we have to live with the results.
Dr Terry Offline
#5 Posted : Monday, 8 November 2010 4:40:50 PM(UTC)
Dr Terry

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered
Joined: 1/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 5,877

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 152 time(s) in 141 post(s)
Sorry, I couldn't resist.

I think it would depend on with version of ECU you have, but most aftermarket units have a dedicated tacho output pin.

Dr Terry

_________________________________________

When calculating a car restoration budget, be as accurate as you can & then double the final figure. It will be closer to the truth.
If at first you don't succeed, just call it Version 1.0
commodorenut Offline
#6 Posted : Monday, 8 November 2010 5:27:24 PM(UTC)
commodorenut

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Veteran
Joined: 2/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,135

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 35 time(s) in 33 post(s)
What model Haltech?

If it's the E6-GM then you can use the standard factory take-off point to drive a tacho.

But then again, what model car are we talking, and what motor is in it, as the Haltech on a V6 is very different to the V8 when it comes to driving the tacho.

Cheers,

Mick
_______________________________________________________________

Judge a successful man not on how he treats his peers, but on how he treats those less fortunate.
Cheers,

Mick
_______________________________________________________________

Judge a successful man not on how he treats his peers, but on how he treats those less fortunate.
disowned Offline
#7 Posted : Monday, 8 November 2010 9:34:30 PM(UTC)
disowned

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 26/09/2010(UTC)
Posts: 13

hey all sorry for my poor spelling skills. My haltech is a E6K i have a HZ tonner with a Injected 5L from a VS.
commodorenut Offline
#8 Posted : Monday, 8 November 2010 9:56:23 PM(UTC)
commodorenut

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Veteran
Joined: 2/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,135

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 35 time(s) in 33 post(s)
In that case, as long as your original tacho is a negative pulse unit, you can run your tacho off the negative terminal of the coil, just like it would have been before. This is how all VN-VS 5L Commodore tachos are hooked up (they simply share that circuit).

Cheers,

Mick
_______________________________________________________________

Judge a successful man not on how he treats his peers, but on how he treats those less fortunate.
Cheers,

Mick
_______________________________________________________________

Judge a successful man not on how he treats his peers, but on how he treats those less fortunate.
greenhj Offline
#9 Posted : Tuesday, 9 November 2010 1:20:02 AM(UTC)
greenhj

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/05/2006(UTC)
Posts: 485

Thanks: 4 times
Was thanked: 10 time(s) in 8 post(s)
quote:
Originally posted by disowned
hey all sorry for my poor spelling skills. My haltech is a E6K i have a HZ tonner with a Injected 5L from a VS.


I wasnt maliciously busting your chops about spelling, my reply was just the first thought i had when i read the thread title and opened the topic.

At least one other person was thinking it too so that makes it ok lol.

good luck getting it sorted, doesnt sound like a big deal given the advice youve received.

cheers
phill








[email protected]
will go quicker

[email protected]
went quicker and faster, just not quick enough.

now being rebuilt with less cam, much less comp, and a turbo.

Edited by user Tuesday, 9 November 2010 1:30:38 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified





[email protected] NA
now being rebuilt with less cam, much less comp, and enough turbo to smash a holden block to bits..
jabba Offline
#10 Posted : Tuesday, 9 November 2010 7:12:53 AM(UTC)
jabba

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/04/2005(UTC)
Posts: 465

As a check, take the wire that you think should feed the tacho, and earth it while the engine is running. If it is the right wire, the engine will cut out.

__________________________________________
Keep the shiny side up, and the greasy side down.
__________________________________________
Keep the shiny side up, and the greasy side down.
jim Offline
#11 Posted : Tuesday, 9 November 2010 7:21:47 AM(UTC)
jim

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Veteran
Joined: 28/03/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,903

or hook the tacho up and see if it works?

Jim in Adelaide..
Jim in Adelaide..
disowned Offline
#12 Posted : Tuesday, 9 November 2010 9:36:29 AM(UTC)
disowned

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 26/09/2010(UTC)
Posts: 13

Thanks all big help. No sweat greenhj all fun and games till someone gets mexican hot sauce in the eye
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.155 seconds.