Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Take the time to read our Privacy Policy.

TonyMax Offline
#1 Posted : Monday, 4 March 2024 11:34:27 AM(UTC)
TonyMax

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/02/2024(UTC)
Posts: 19
Australia
Location: NSW

Thanks: 13 times
If I'm reading an old thread right, to plumb in the heater in a HZ I have to put the blocking caps onto where the short hose is between the manifold and the water pump, and put the heater hoses onto where it's currently blocked off?

And if there's one present at all the heater tap will be inside under the dash somewhere?

Which hose goes to the top in the firewall?

Thanks in advance.



wbute Offline
#2 Posted : Monday, 4 March 2024 11:50:25 AM(UTC)
wbute

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 25/01/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,116

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 16 post(s)
Heater tap definitely goes in the engine bay between thermostat housing and firewall. The cable to open it comes from the control in the dash on drivers side and hooks onto the tap.
 1 user thanked wbute for this useful post.
TonyMax on 10/03/2024(UTC)
TonyMax Offline
#3 Posted : Monday, 4 March 2024 12:33:21 PM(UTC)
TonyMax

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/02/2024(UTC)
Posts: 19
Australia
Location: NSW

Thanks: 13 times
Does that mean there should be a bracket or something to hold the tap still so the cable can action it?
HK1837 Offline
#4 Posted : Tuesday, 5 March 2024 6:10:35 AM(UTC)
HK1837

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Veteran
Joined: 1/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 14,579

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 481 time(s) in 459 post(s)
No. It has a support on it for the cable anchor.

https://www.ebay.com.au/...t%7Ctkp%3ABk9SR9rar7HBYw
_______________________________________________________
If we all had the same (good) taste, who would buy all the Fords?
 1 user thanked HK1837 for this useful post.
TonyMax on 10/03/2024(UTC)
Dr Terry Offline
#5 Posted : Tuesday, 5 March 2024 6:45:41 AM(UTC)
Dr Terry

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered
Joined: 1/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 6,023

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 197 time(s) in 180 post(s)
There is no heater tap on any HQ-HZ with a standard heater.

If the car has 'forced air ventilation' where the dash has 4 face level outlets then there is a tap (as pictured in the ebay advert). This tap is actuated by a cable which exits the firewall just under the heater box.

BTW, the pic of the heater block-offs & by-pass is not correct. That thermostat housing is HQ-style. The correct HX-HZ one has 2 outlets, one for the heater & one for the by-pass hose to the water pump. The by-pass hose has never gone to the front of the inlet manifold. That threaded port is for a temp sensor or vacuuum switch.

Dr Terry
If at first you don't succeed, just call it Version 1.0
 1 user thanked Dr Terry for this useful post.
TonyMax on 10/03/2024(UTC)
wbute Offline
#6 Posted : Tuesday, 5 March 2024 6:49:22 AM(UTC)
wbute

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 25/01/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,116

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 17 time(s) in 16 post(s)
I thought forced air was standard on HZ?
Dr Terry Offline
#7 Posted : Tuesday, 5 March 2024 7:06:17 AM(UTC)
Dr Terry

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered
Joined: 1/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 6,023

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 197 time(s) in 180 post(s)
Originally Posted by: wbute Go to Quoted Post
I thought forced air was standard on HZ?


To my knowledge it wasn't standard on base models like one-tonner, ute & van.

As I said it's easy to tell. See if the extra cable is present & check the control panel, it's slightly different to standard as well.

Dr Terry

Edited by user Tuesday, 5 March 2024 7:19:59 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If at first you don't succeed, just call it Version 1.0
 1 user thanked Dr Terry for this useful post.
TonyMax on 10/03/2024(UTC)
HK1837 Offline
#8 Posted : Tuesday, 5 March 2024 7:34:44 AM(UTC)
HK1837

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Veteran
Joined: 1/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 14,579

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 481 time(s) in 459 post(s)
C57 was optional on M60/70/80 on HZ when released but became standard during HZ. Not sure exactly when but it was there by early 1979 as the Sandman package was also revised at the same time to remove C57 as a component option as it became a mandatory option on the base vehicle.
_______________________________________________________
If we all had the same (good) taste, who would buy all the Fords?
 1 user thanked HK1837 for this useful post.
TonyMax on 10/03/2024(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.088 seconds.