Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Login


Take the time to read our Privacy Policy.

holden05 Offline
#1 Posted : Saturday, 18 November 2023 12:25:36 PM(UTC)
holden05

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/04/2011(UTC)
Posts: 109

Thanks: 1 times
Got wb out of storage and noticed the tacho(gts type) flickered and died also no power to the radio
Any ideas?
Thinking maybe bad earth?

HK1837 Offline
#2 Posted : Saturday, 18 November 2023 4:13:53 PM(UTC)
HK1837

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Veteran
Joined: 1/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 14,469

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 449 time(s) in 429 post(s)
Could just be a fuse, could be a bad chassis connection. Might be a dead voltage regulator or crook capacitors too. But start on the easy stuff first like fuses and chassis 0V connection.
_______________________________________________________
If we all had the same (good) taste, who would buy all the Fords?
holden05 Offline
#3 Posted : Saturday, 18 November 2023 4:24:27 PM(UTC)
holden05

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/04/2011(UTC)
Posts: 109

Thanks: 1 times
Got the radio working, tacho still dead. Traced wiring back from coil to harness, looks ok
Check coil connector, cleaned and lubed
Still nothing
all other gauges work ok

Edited by user Saturday, 18 November 2023 5:01:31 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

wbute Offline
#4 Posted : Sunday, 19 November 2023 7:59:33 AM(UTC)
wbute

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 25/01/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,090

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 15 post(s)
My tachometer played up years ago, used to jump all over the place. Sent it to an instrument place and they resoldered all the joints I believe. Never played up again. The clock hasn’t missed a beat in 39 years, so I guess you never can tell.
holden05 Offline
#5 Posted : Sunday, 19 November 2023 10:11:53 AM(UTC)
holden05

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/04/2011(UTC)
Posts: 109

Thanks: 1 times
If it was a bad earth wouldn’t I be having problems with the other guages?
202tonner Offline
#6 Posted : Sunday, 19 November 2023 11:59:20 AM(UTC)
202tonner

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/12/2018(UTC)
Posts: 77
Australia
Location: SA

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
What was wrong with the radio? That might point to the problem.

Offhand I would check the connection at the firewall connector. Should be a brown wire both sides. Give it a wiggle and/or a thump. If you are technically minded check the connectivity of the wire from the tacho to the coil using a multimeter.

I'm not familiar with GTS dashes or wiring but do you get a light in the tacho when you turn the headlights on? What colour wires come off the back of the tacho?
Also "flickered and died"? So it worked for a second or a minute? Or just jumped up a bit and then nothing since?

Edited by user Sunday, 19 November 2023 12:00:08 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

holden05 Offline
#7 Posted : Sunday, 19 November 2023 12:38:48 PM(UTC)
holden05

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/04/2011(UTC)
Posts: 109

Thanks: 1 times
The radio was user error, lol.
The tacho flickered and then died. Previous to the vehicle being stored
It worked flawlessly
I’ve checked both firewall connection and on the coil
Both looked ok
I had a visual inspection of the cable from coil to the tacho
Looks ok
Yet to do a continuity test as the cable didn’t look damaged

Edited by user Sunday, 19 November 2023 12:55:16 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

morsesworld Offline
#8 Posted : Monday, 20 November 2023 2:00:17 PM(UTC)
morsesworld

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 2/11/2017(UTC)
Posts: 62
Australia
Location: frankston

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
I would say probably bad solder Joints.
My VN Commodore has the same problem.
holden05 Offline
#9 Posted : Monday, 20 November 2023 5:45:11 PM(UTC)
holden05

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/04/2011(UTC)
Posts: 109

Thanks: 1 times
Update to this
Did notice today there is a very slight flicker
In the needle
So it must be getting signal from the coil?
202tonner Offline
#10 Posted : Monday, 20 November 2023 6:44:30 PM(UTC)
202tonner

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/12/2018(UTC)
Posts: 77
Australia
Location: SA

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Check the connectivity as mentioned above. The firewall connector can fill up with crud and any holes or leaks in the plenum will trickle water down into it. It might look fine but the connection might be dirty or corroded. Worth checking.
If that wire is fine then connect the tacho with new wires outside of the loom. So run a power wire from the fusebox, a new wire to the coil, a new earth to somewhere and whatever other wires are there. If the tacho works then it is a wiring problem somewhere and you can replace these new wires one by one with the old wires in the loom until it stops working again. That will be the dodgy wire.
If the tacho still doesn't work properly with all new wires then get it checked out by an auto sparky or electronics dude. Something is wrong inside.
Good luck.

wbute Offline
#11 Posted : Monday, 20 November 2023 7:28:53 PM(UTC)
wbute

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 25/01/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,090

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 15 post(s)
As I said, my GTS tachometer did the same, it was dry solder joints. Pull it out and take it to an instrument repair place. If it was your clock it would be capacitors that had stopped working.

Edited by user Monday, 20 November 2023 7:29:57 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

holden05 Offline
#12 Posted : Monday, 20 November 2023 8:16:04 PM(UTC)
holden05

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/04/2011(UTC)
Posts: 109

Thanks: 1 times
I’ll replace the tacho to coil cable just in case
Trace out the power wire which I understand connects to the ignition side on the fuse box(pink wire??)
If it is a bad earth then the earth must be a single cable to chassis and if it was grouped I’d be having issues with other guages????

Lastley I’ll remove the tacho and get it tested, can you remove the tacho by its self or do I have to remove all the other guages?

Edited by user Monday, 20 November 2023 8:22:29 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

wbute Offline
#13 Posted : Monday, 20 November 2023 8:20:07 PM(UTC)
wbute

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 25/01/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,090

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 15 post(s)
Yes. Pull the tacos off and then remove the tachometer
holden05 Offline
#14 Posted : Monday, 20 November 2023 8:46:20 PM(UTC)
holden05

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/04/2011(UTC)
Posts: 109

Thanks: 1 times
I have read elsewhere that you can test a tacho with a battery charger as it emits a pulse
Anyone else heard this
202tonner Offline
#15 Posted : Monday, 20 November 2023 11:10:26 PM(UTC)
202tonner

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 21/12/2018(UTC)
Posts: 77
Australia
Location: SA

Thanks: 22 times
Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Originally Posted by: holden05 Go to Quoted Post
I have read elsewhere that you can test a tacho with a battery charger as it emits a pulse
Anyone else heard this


I hadn't but apparently you can.
Here's the info on MG tachos. Note some the old pommie stuff used positive earth so not sure how to wire it for a negative earth Holden.
http://www.mgb-stuff.org.uk/tachtest.htm

Search "how to test a tacho with a battery charger" for more examples.

holden05 Offline
#16 Posted : Tuesday, 21 November 2023 8:35:19 PM(UTC)
holden05

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/04/2011(UTC)
Posts: 109

Thanks: 1 times
Another strange thing, not sure if connection but dash lights are dim
holden05 Offline
#17 Posted : Thursday, 7 December 2023 6:25:39 PM(UTC)
holden05

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/04/2011(UTC)
Posts: 109

Thanks: 1 times
Tacho all good now working
wbute Offline
#18 Posted : Friday, 8 December 2023 5:26:00 AM(UTC)
wbute

Rank: Veteran

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 25/01/2010(UTC)
Posts: 1,090

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 15 post(s)
What was wrong with it?
holden05 Offline
#19 Posted : Friday, 8 December 2023 1:21:05 PM(UTC)
holden05

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Joined: 23/04/2011(UTC)
Posts: 109

Thanks: 1 times
dunno!. took the car for a run before i was going to remove the tacho, gave it a big rev on the way and it cam good and stayed that way. so fingers cross all good for now
Users browsing this topic
Guest (3)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2023, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.243 seconds.